Scholarship Information

The scholarships administered by the Department of Poultry Science range from $1000 per year to $6,000 per year. All recipients of scholarships administered by the Department of Poultry Science must be majoring in poultry science and maintain a 2.5 grade point ratio.

Poultry Science Department Scholarship Applications:
Incoming freshman and external transfer students may apply for scholarships offered through the Poultry Science Department by using the the scholarship application found on the Apply Texas website.Current TAMU Poultry Science students – the application process is being updated at this time. Information on this application will be posted as soon as the update is complete.

Texas Allied Poultry Association Student Assistance Program:
TAPA applications should be submitted to Allison Noll by September 15

TAPA Scholarship Application

For more information about available scholarships, please contact:

Lesley Gleason
Poultry Science Dept
Texas A&M University
Kleberg Center, Rm 101D
College Station, Texas  77843-2472
Phone:  979-845-1654

Allison Noll
Poultry Science Dept
Texas A&M University
Kleberg Center, Rm 101
College Station, Texas  77843-2472

Phone:  979-845-1654

Poultry Science Department Scholarships and Fellowships:

W. Kazmeier Endowed Scholarship
Endowed by the family of F. W. Kazmeier. In 1912, Mr. Kazmeier became the first poultry instructor at Texas A&M College. He was also head of the Poultry Extension Department for 8 years. After his retirement from Texas A&M, Mr. Kazmeier was the owner and operator of Kazmeier Hatchery in Bryan, TX and numerous poultry farms in the Brazos Valley.

F. and Ruth Krueger Scholarship
W. F. Krueger (‘43) joined Texas A&M as a faculty member in 1953, and served as department head from 1972 and 1982. His many research accomplishments have had profound impacts on the discipline and industry. Both Dr. and Mrs. Krueger also touched the lives of countless students throughout their many years of teaching. They generously created this scholarship to continue their legacy into the future.

Bob and Margaret Palm COADC Endowed Scholarship
Established by Bob Palm (‘65) and Margaret Palm. Bob Palm is vice president of Pilgrim’s Pride and is in charge of the Lufkin and Nacogdoches Pilgrim’s operations. He is also former chairman of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Development Council (COADC).

Samantha Pohl ’08 Memorial Scholarship
The Samantha K. Pohl ’08 Memorial Scholarship will provide much needed support for such students during their undergraduate years as pre-veterinary students in the Department of Poultry Science. Junior or Senior undergrads in Poultry Science who are committed to entering a career in poultry veterinary medicine will be eligible for scholarship support.

Ray Price Scholarship
Endowed by Ray Price to be awarded to undergraduate students. Mr. Price was a long time Texas poultry breeder.

Henry and Jean Prochazka Scholarship
Endowed by Henry (‘53) and Jean Prochazka. Henry Prochazka was in the Texas laying hen industry for many years.

Jean and Henry Prochazka Scholarship
The Jean and Henry Prochazka Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship is the second scholarship endowed by the Prochazka family. Henry Prochazka was in the Texas laying hen industry for many years.

Cecil B. Ryan Endowed Scholarship
Endowed by family and friends upon Dr. Ryan’s retirement from the department as a professor and judging team coach. Awarded to freshmen entering the Department of Poultry Science based on high school accomplishments and grades.

Grady Scroggins Memorial Scholarship
Mr. Scroggins (‘50) was the Farm Manager for the Janes Bar-Nothing Turkey Ranch near Austin, Texas. He continued to work for Plantation Food when they bought Mr. Janes’ turkey operation.

Texas Broiler Council Scholarships
Endowed in appreciation for departmental assistance with the Houston Livestock Show and San Antonio Livestock Show programs.

Drs. Fred and Nancy Thornberry Endowed Scholarship
Endowed by the daughters of Drs. Fred and Nancy Thornberry in recognition for Fred’s nearly 50 years of dedicated service as a faculty member and Extension specialist in the Poultry Extension Unit.

Texas Allied Poultry Association (TAPA) Scholarships
These funds are collected annually at a live and silent scholarship auction that is part of the annual Texas Poultry Federation Convention. Scholarship recipients are selected by an internal TPF committee. Students selected to receive TAPA scholarships are undergraduate Poultry Science majors at either Texas A&M University or Stephen F. Austin State University. To date, five scholarships awarded annually have been named for individuals within academia or the statewide industry who have made significant contributions to supporting students:

James and Walline Grimm Scholarship

Jimmy Singleton Memorial Scholarship

Jake Jacobs Memorial Scholarship

C.R. “Dick” Creger Memorial Scholarship

NutraBlend Scholarship

Jimmy Singleton Memorial Scholarship – undergraduate student from poultry industry family

Jake Jacobs Memorial Scholarship –
undergraduate student from poultry industry family

James and Velma Couch Research Endowment – Undergraduate and Graduate

S. Poultry and Egg Foundation – Undergraduate and Graduate

James W. Lee Memorial Endowed Scholarship – Graduate

Pilgrim’s Pride Corporation Graduate Endowed Fellowship 

Texas Broiler Council Endowed Graduate Fellowship

Pamela Hargis/Plantation Foods Graduate Fellowship



Comments are closed.